About The Council

Parish Councils are the lowest tier of local government in England and have a range of roles and responsibilities within the communities they serve that is likely to increase under current and future legislation.

Papworth Everard Parish Council is responsible for the upkeep of many village facilities, including:

• The playing fields
• The main children’s play area and paddling pool
• The village hall
• Lighting in some residential side roads and footpaths
• Bus shelters
• The churchyard and cemetery
• Dog bins
• Some litter bins
• Public seating
• Notice-boards
• Grit bins
• The village flagpole

The Parish Council is not responsible for the open spaces or play areas on the Varrier-Jones Drive, Hayman’s Way, North Lodge Drive or South Park Drive developments, or on any of the land owned by the Varrier-Jones Foundation, the Papworth Trust, or the Papworth Hospital NHS Trust.

In addition to fulfilling its own responsibilities, the council also monitors items that are the responsibility of the county council, including roads, pavements, street lighting, verge cutting and public footpaths. Small grants can be made by the Parish Council to village organisations for items that the council does not normally have the power to fund.

The Parish Council is consulted on all planning applications made to the District and County Councils, which affect the parish. However, while comments made by the Parish Council are taken into consideration, all planning decisions are made by the referring authority. The council may also be asked to express the views of the village on other new proposals and on local planning policy, such as the potential use of the Papworth Hospital site after the hospital’s move to Cambridge in Spring 2019.

Papworth Everard Parish Council receives the funds that it uses to fulfil its role in the village in the form of an annual precept, which is collected on its behalf by South Cambridgeshire District Council, as part of the Council Tax charge. In addition, the Parish Council – and the village – is fortunate to be benefiting from sums of money that developers have been obliged under planning agreements to contribute towards capital projects for the provision of community facilities.

The Parish Council may also apply for funding from a variety of grant-giving bodies and local authorities.

If you would like to know more about the work of the Parish Council, please contact the Parish Clerk.

Joining The Council

Elections to Papworth Everard Parish Council are held every four years, the next elections being due in May 2022. In certain circumstances, an election may he held to fill a vacant seat on the council or, more usually, the council is able to ‘co-opt’ new members.

Vacancies are advertised on the Parish Council notice-board on the wall of Papworth Stores. If you would like to be considered for co-option to the council, should a vacancy arise, please refer to the list below to check your eligibility – a positive response to all questions is essential. You may then request an application form from the Parish Clerk.

If an application is received before the agenda for the next full council meeting is published, a formal resolution to co-opt may be tabled at that meeting. You will be invited to attend the meeting, so that you are able to discuss the interest you have shown. The council will then make a decision on the co-option and you will be informed of the outcome within a few days.

New members sign a ‘Declaration of Acceptance’ and a ‘Declaration of Interests’ and agreeing to abide by the council’s ‘Code of Conduct’. Information provided on these declarations will be open to public inspection.

Eligibility for office as a Parish Councillor

You must:

  • Be over 18 years of age
  • Be a British citizen or a citizen of the Republic of Ireland.
  • Be on the parish electoral roll on the day of co-option and thereafter,  or
  • Have occupied as owner or tenant any land or other premises in the parish during the whole of the 12 months preceding the day of co-option, or
  • Have had your principal or only place of work in the area during the whole of the 12 months preceding the day of co-option, or
  • Have resided in the parish, or within 3 miles of it, for the whole of the 12 months prior to co-option, and
  • Have not held any paid office or employment under this authority
  • Have not been a person adjudged bankrupt
  • Have not been a person who, within five years before the day of co-option, has been convicted of any offence and has had passed on him/her a sentence of imprisonment for a period of not less than 3 months (whether suspended or not) without option of a fine

Staff & Offices

The Clerk to the Council is the Executive Officer responsible for the council’s administration – this role is held by Sarah Cruse.

Sarah is assisted by Clare Taylor, who has particular administrative responsibility for matters relating to planning. Clare is also the Village Hall Bookings Clerk and deals with all enquiries and bookings for the Hall.

The Clerk is based in the Parish Office on the first floor of the Papworth Everard Village Hall (although is currently working from home due to the pandemic)

Normal office hours:

Monday 10:00 – 14:00
Tuesday 10:00 – 14:00
Wednesday 10.00 – 14.00
Friday 10.00 – 14.00


To make its operation more effective, efficient and responsive, the Parish Council has set up a number of committees to oversee administration and spending in specific areas of its responsibility. These committees are composed mostly of Parish Council members, but non-members may also be invited to serve where this is considered beneficial by the council. Non-council members do not have voting rights. The chairman and vice-chairman of the Parish Council are ex officio members of all committees.


Membership of the council’s committees is as follows:

Finance and HR :
Pete Cruse (Chair), Paul Phillips (Vice Chair), Paul Hicks, Chris Howlett, Chris Dawson, Victoria Carter, Grace Fisher, Mark Hersom, Cat Lloyd, Terry Cook, Michele Eidevik-Skinner, Jane Coutts

Chris Howlett (Chair), Pete Cruse, Chris Dawson, Paul Hicks, Victoria Carter, Mark Hersom, Terry Cook, Michele Eidevik-Skinner

Amenities and Playing Fields:
Paul Phillips (Chair), Pete Cruse, Chris Howlett, Victoria Carter, Paul Hicks, Cat Lloyd, Terry Cook, Jane Coutts, Michele Eidevik-Skinner

PB* (Cricket Club), Stephen Welburn* (Tennis Club), John Tolond* (Football), TBC* (Bowls Club)

Village Hall:
Victoria Carter (Chair), Chris Howlett, Paul Phillips, Pete Cruse, Paul Hicks, Cat Lloyd, Terry Cook, Jane Coutts, Clare Taylor (Bookings Clerk)*

* Not a member of the Parish Council (a non-councillor may be a member of any committee, except the Finance and HR Committee)

This website uses cookies. By continuing to use our website, you agree to the use of cookies. If you would like to know more please view our privacy policy.